Wild Halflings of Anchorome

I’ve already drawn a few Anchorome halflings, but only one that wasn’t from the polar regions.

There’s not a lot to say about these guys. They’re inspired both by North-Eastern Indigenous groups and Studio Ghibli. The Anchorome Campaign Guide describes “the Short Ones” as being “master gardeners.” While many Indigenous peoples practiced horticulture, agriculture, and mariculture, I thought that provided an opportunity to utilize some Iroquois, Huron, and Algonquin influences.

The idea of masks is entirely mine. I like the idea that the woman farmer’s can be both a mask and a hat. There are mask traditions among some South-Western and Pacific Coast Indigenous traditions, but in this case I thought that simulating that would be inappropriate. Like carving a totem pole.

This whole project does carry a whiff of appropriation. I haven’t created reciprocal relationships with the many nations I use as influences in creating Anchorome art, Marvelous or otherwise. This is, I fully admit, problematic. The history of North America is full of appropriation of Indigenous peoples’ arts and traditions without first forming a relationship and honouring the source. I hope that I’ve been general enough that I can mitigate this – but it does behoove me to do better.


Adaptations of (mostly Indigenous) Marvel Comics characters into Maztican (or other True World) D&D characters.

Adaptations of (mostly Indigenous) DC Comics characters into Maztican (or other True World) D&D characters.

All True World art, including adaptations and original art and character design.

Leave a comment