Eladrin – 4e Canon

Juliana and Aeofel Elhromane

With the release of Wild Beyond the Witchlight and a friend’s feywild themed game, I got interested in Eladrin again and decided to draw a whole bunch. This was before I even realized that 5e had introduced a Fey Eladrin race that had a neat seasonal mechanic.

My first three Eladrin are all from the 4e era of D&D. Juliana and her dad (below) are from the amazing D&D comic Fell’s Five. I really can’t say enough good things about this comic. It has a very Firefly feel with the wit and balancing high stakes, humour, and heart. Maybe the only bad thing I will say is that “Juliana” is a very boring name for an eladrin! Especially considering her dad’s name! Julianna is a wizard and the love interest of the main character (Adric Fell). Maybe you can headcanon in that she adopted a new name when she left the Feywild?

Before I get to her Dad, I’ll touch on Wil Wheaton’s Acquisitions Incorporated intern, the avenger Aeofel. Acq Inc is one of my distinct pleasures and, I think, helped popularize D&D and liveplay podcasts and vodcasts both in the 4e and 5e games. Wil crystallized Eladrin for a lot of people when he heard Aeofel (“Al”) being called an elf and exclaimed “Elves are our hillbilly cousins!”.

I drew Toveliss E’teall (Lord of Cydaria, Guardian of the Silver Mountains) from the Fell’s Five comic in a pose he struck in the comics, although I altered his armour and raiment a little bit. I also drew him at quite a large scale, as an experiment. That’s why I couldn’t really scale him down to fit into a tryptych with Julianna and Aeofel.

Toveliss E’teall

Toveliss is much more like the Eladrin you would imagine. Haughty and full of pride, dismissive of other races (even elves), but not evil either. Lots of story they didn’t get a chance to tell here too.

4e established that Eladrin didn’t have pupils, by the way, and so had the weird monocoloured eyes that gnomes also had at that point.

Look for more non-Canon Eladrin soon!

2 thoughts on “Eladrin – 4e Canon”

Leave a comment